Is Your Virtual Life Better Than Your Real Life?

Let me see who’s on Facebook.  What’s up Lisa? I like the pictures from Josalyn’s party.  Why didn’t you tell me about it?, asks Isaac. I sent an rsvp, but you didn’t respond, Lisa replies. It’s cool because I was talking to Tamara. Who’s Tamara, she inquires. I met her on Tagged. She’s 21 years old, single and lives in Florida. I’ll send you her pic, says Isaac. Are you going to visit her? I don’t know. That’s a long trip, laughs Isaac. How long have ya’ll been talking? she asks. Maybe two months. Hey, guess who I found on Facebook?  Who?, asks Lisa. Harold Renaldo, he says. I haven’t seen him since High School. How is he? I’ll send a friend invite, she responds. He’s good. Renaldo has two kids and a catering business. We chatted for a while. I sent a message last week and he hasn’t responded, explains Isaac.

Oh I see. Have you been outside yet? It looks nice, Lisa says. Hold on Lisa,  let me go to the weather channel website. It’s 80 degrees. I’m gonna chill today. I don’t feel like getting dressed, he solemnly explains.  Guess what Issac? I saw Sandra on my lunchbreak last Tuesday. She works at Saks Fifth Avenue and attends the Brooklyn Law School, says Lisa. Is she on Facebook? Let me check. Sandra, Sandra, Sandra. What’s her last name? She’s not on Facebook, he says disappointingly. I asked her before we gave our goodbyes. We exchanged numbers and set up a date for lunch, Lisa answers.

Is she still fine? John excitedly asks. Sandra still looks amazing. She lived in France for a year, Lisa answers. Stop playing. What was she doing in France?, Isaac inquires. Sandra taught 8th grade English. I got on her for not being on Facebook, says Lisa. Everyone’s on there. Is she on Twitter or LinkedIn?, he asks. No. Sandra says she’s too busy. Man, I just work my 9-5, go home, eat and web surf.  The plantation wears me out, so I need a series of stress relievers, laughs Isaac. Whatever happpened with your autobiography? Lisa asks. Yeah, I need to finish it. I lost inspiration. It’s a lot of work. I’ll get back to it.

I’m bored. What are you doing later, Lisa asks. Nothing. You know what, I have to send Tamara some pictures of me and my colleagues at work. Oh, she says dejectedly. I’m gonna download Jay-Z’s new album. After I listen to it, I’ll post my comments on Facebook. Hey, why don’t you join the Willbrough H.S. group. I didn’t because my friend got a virus when she joined, Lisa recalls. Anyway, I’ll talk to you later. My homegirl just came online, says Isaac.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

