The I’m Gonna Syndrome

I’m gonna write this post. I’m gonna get my driver’s license. I’m gonna go back to school. I’m gonna, I’m gonna, I’m gonna.  Don’t you get tired of hearing that? After awhile you tune the person out and nod your head hoping that the person shut up. If your not gonna do something don’t pretend that you will.

Anyone can talk about achieving a goal. DOING gets things accomplished. TALKING gives you false confidence and strength. It’ll make you feel good temporarily, but later on  you can become depressed from INACTIVITY. The soul wants you to strive for  goals to stretch  your mind and abilities.

When you don’t, you let yourself down and others. You begin regretting not chasing your dreams. Also, friends and family could have been counting on you to succeed.  Your ACTIONS may have possibly pushed them to go after their dreams.

RESULTS matter not talking. I’m not perfect and neither are you. Each of us put off things. Sometimes it’s FEAR, FAMILY ISSUES, HEALTH, PROCRASTINATION or it can be something else. But once in awhile, there’s something you don’t do that can have a major impact on your future.

For example, you keep saying your gonna visit the doctor. You say this for years. When you go he discovers a tumor.  Six years ago, you were single, childless and living with your parents. You told friends of your dreams to study Sports Medicine. Now, you have to work and find a babysitter so you can attend college. Of course this dream is still possible.

But you have to make adjustments. Make a list of your goals. Picture them. Consider affirmations. Have a productive friend monitor progress towards your goals. Select the best method to achieve your goals. Keep BELIEVING and ACHIEVING. And don’t tell me what your GONNA DO!

    • Hue
    • November 16th, 2009

    Thanks for the info Omar! Your blog is very inspiring!

      • Omar Hasan
      • November 16th, 2009

      Your welcome Hue.

  1. Omar, thanks for sending me an email about your new blog and ebook. Great to see you’ve been able to startup your own blog now and get publishing content (and good content at that from what I’ve seen). It’s too bad Kamal hasn’t put the same effort into his site to really get blogging. Anyway, I’m glad you’ve done it and know you’ll enjoy having your own site. You seem to have a cool style and theme to match already.

    Looking forward to future articles. Are “you gonna” post most?? Just kidding…

      • Omar Hasan
      • November 12th, 2009

      Thanks Mike. I still have some work to do to improve this site. Also, thank you for offering feedback on my blog posts on http://www.runningminds.com. Your blog as well as others have greatly inspired me to create my own self development blog.

    • Hue
    • November 10th, 2009

    Hello Omar,

    You give great advice on this post! I know exactly where you are coming from.

    I saw your comment on a YSN article and you mentioned that you published an “e book”. I just wanted to ask you what it is and how does it work?

    Thanks! Keep up the good work!

    Best,
    Hue

      • kentrelldawkins9
      • November 11th, 2009

      Thank you Hue. An e book is short for an electronic book. You can print it from your computer or share it with others. You can share it as long as the author grants access. You can put together an e book on http://www.scribd.com or http://www.smashwords.com. There are probably other sites as well. I used scripd. You save your document and upload it to the site. You can choose whether someone views it only on the site, as a word doc, pdf and word doc. Also, you can sell your material. Hope this helps.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

